Queen Margrethe II chaired a Council of State at Christianborg Palace on Wednesday, 7 October 2020.

Crown Prince Frederik, Queen Margrethe and Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen attend the Council of State. Photo: Keld Navntoft/The Royal Danish House

The Council of State is traditionally held the day after the opening of the Folketing, this time using the larger Table Hall, to ensure necessary space and distance between all participants.

Council of State Meetings are usually held in the State Hall.

Crown Prince Frederik also attended the meeting with Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen and seventeen of the 20 cabinet ministers.

These Councils of State usually meet about six times per year to ratify bills passed by the Folketing and present bills to Queen Margrethe which will be presented in the parliament.

Sometimes additional meetings are called for Queen Margrethe to attend to urgent matters so they are resubmitted and subsequently confirmed at the next Council of State.

Subscribe to Right Royal Roundup to get access

Read more of this content when you subscribe today.

Your comments are welcome. (Please note no offensive, abusive language and no spam. Those ones will be deleted.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.